Schools out. Whatya doin???

I haven’t been very active in the quilting world the last week or so as I have been trying to navigate my way around the Irish kids camps, activities etc for the kids to do while on their summer holidays. I was in Arizona the last 3 summers so I’m sure all you American moms are in full swing at the moment with your kids summer. Mine will only start next week.

What ya’all doing with the kiddos over the summer? I’m asking more to find out if any of you are trying to arrange a bit of time for quilting? Do you try to make time for quilting while the kids are off, or do you take time off during the holidays to spend time with the kids and switch off from the quilting world? I’m not sure many of us can actually switch off from quilting but taking into consideration a lot of us crafters are either working moms or stay at home moms I beg the question can we fit in our quilting around the kids?

I am really going to try to fit in quilting but maybe not in the physical sense of the word. I may only get to physically quilt when they are in bed but during the day I will also try to fit in my quilting ‘research’ as I like to call it. This includes checking e-mails, facebook, blog etc and then reading what is new in the quilting world. This may only be while over a cup of tea but I can’t just switch off from quilting while the kids are off. If anything quilting is my saviour from the full on intensity of the kids being off school and around me 24-7! (deep breaths)

Anyway, the weather is another reason you may or may not be quilting. While in Arizona I did quite a bit of daytime quilting during the summer months because it was just too hot to go outside but now I am back to Ireland if there is even an inkling of sun we are packed up and there is a Liz shaped hole in the wall.

Do you bring projects out with you? I mean, well it would be hard to do that in quilting world, except of course if you hand quilt but even if you do, do you bring your hand quilting out with you?

Sometimes I am sitting in the park with the kids all off enjoying themselves and I think to myself, you know what I could be doing some really peaceful quilting right now with no kids asking me questions but instead I am sitting in the park thinking about quilting. Not very efficient, is it? 

What could I be doing though? There is always quilt magazines and dog earing the many many quilt patterns I just have to try but is there something portable that is a bit more efficient than adding to my ‘to do’ list? I can’t imagine it would be right to bring a rotary cutter to the park right?  but I have thought about it, I’m not going to lie to you. You could get some great cutting done in the park with the kids running around enjoying themselves and guilt free quilting is my thang!

 

 

Leave a comment